非居民个人自主经营所得税纳税规定,以及避免重复纳税国际协定的适用要求

属地社保编号的含义,以及预提税代理人义务

《总统令》第917/86号文第2条(《所得税统一法典》)对意大利的自然人,包括居民和非居民具有约束力。居民指在意大利的市级人口登记系统中,登记为居民的时间达到一年中的绝大部分时间,或登记为居民且拥有符合《意大利民法》规定的住所的人士。

按照惯例,所得税纳税期间主要指在意大利境内住址逗留183天,即半年加同年剩余天数中的一天;而要求住所具有满足税收用途的明显住宅特征,突显了意大利共和国希望将在该国逗留的客观重要性,纳入税收立法考虑这一意图。

《总统令》第3条规定了评估意大利非居民在该国所得总额的依据。《总统令》第20条罗列了非居民所得,这些所得是非居民在意大利利用土地与资本实现的所得之外的所得,包括:

在意大利作为雇员得到的薪酬;

在意大利从事自由职业的所得;

在意大利设立常设机构,开展经营活动的所得;

在意大利境内开展各种活动的所得,利用意大利境内资产实现的所得,以及出售意大利境内公司股份的所得。

但《总统令》第3条第2段的内容,规定了该条第一段提及的属地原则的一种例外情况:

无论第1c)、d)、e)及f)小段的任何一种情形,只有支付方在意大利时,判定为在意大利的所得:

将知识产权、行业专利与商标,以及与通过工业、商业及科技体验获取的体验有关的过程、配方和信息提供他方使用获得的所得

阅读《总统令》第20条第1和第2段内容,就能清晰获知自主经营所得,除企业所得外,仅需对在意大利境内的所得纳税,或对在意大利开展活动的所得纳税,但特定类型的所得(包括一致且连续合作的所得),以及出售或提供知识产权供他方使用的所得除外。对于这些特定类型的所得,只有付款方为意大利的任何公有或私有实体时,才需纳税。

那么综上所述,就自主经营所得而言,除以转账方式支付的版税和与雇员薪酬类似的所得之外,应仅对在意大利境内的工作所得纳税

相反,对于所提到的、以转账方式支付的版税,只有在其付款方为意大利境内的公有或私有实体,或在意大利境内开设有常设机构的任何人时,才视为在意大利的所得。

适用税率

基于纳税的一致性与持续性,《总统令》第600/73号文第24条第1段规定:

1-3.非居民必须为其所得的、类似于雇员薪酬的应税所得额,缴纳30%的预提税”。

该号文第25条第1和第2段,对自主经营所得的适用税率做出了规定:

1.同样被视为意大利境内居民个人所得的还包括:利润分成所得、自由职业所得,尽管为非定期所得。必须通过缴纳个人所得税的方式,针对这些所得缴纳20%的预提税。”

“2.依据本条最后一段的规定,若前一段规定所指的报酬及其他所得,也是非居民的工作所得则必须缴纳30%的预提税,非居民在意大利境外工作的所得,以及非居民意大利常设机构的所得除外。”

因此对非居民自主经营,建立一致且持续合作关系的所得,征收30%的最终预提税。

该预提税将被视为最终税款,因此不体现在任何纳税申报单上。

事实上,一年中的绝大部分时间是否逗留在意大利境内,这是是否被视为意大利税收居民的一个先决条件。如果答案是否定的,则无需在意大利缴纳所得税。

意大利非居民

按照规定,如果意大利非居民(意大利人或外国公民)按要求在意大利提交了纳税申报单,就需纳税。

再看看《总统令》第600/73号文第25条第2段。需要强调的是该段规定了对非居民应税所得征收的预提税税率为30%,且会针对其在企业的相关所得纳税,尽管一般原则是针对居民个人的这种所得不征税。

因此受雇于非居民企业时,必须记住30%的预提税义务,而该规定的原因也容易理解,即:非居民在意大利境内逗留不超过183,因此无需在该国缴纳所得税,但非居民企业不确定其无需缴纳预提税,也不确定其在离境意大利时无需缴纳任何所得税。

该段还规定,非居民自由职业者在意大利境外的所得(因不符合属地原则),及其意大利常设机构的所得,是无需缴纳30%预提税的。对于后者的情形,在意大利的非居民公司实际上成为了满足条件的税收居民。

纳税识别

与非居民聘用关系形成及随后的薪酬支付有关的意大利所有法令,均未要求必须注明税号,尚未办理税号的情形除外。

以上条款包含在《总统令》第605/73号文第6条中。该条款规定,尚未办理个人税号的非居民有义务办理并填写税号,但不必填写个人信息(姓名、名、出生地与出生日期、性别、意大利境外住址) 。

向该类人士支付报酬的非居民,作为所得税代扣代缴人,必须对该报酬及申报所得期间获得的任何税款抵扣进行申报,必须在申报时填写非居民纳税人的外国税号(或纳税人识别号)、个人信息及国外住址。

制定该项规定的原因在于,利用这种方式,意大利税务机关就能与所得受益人定居国就其应税额与是否纳税,以及为避免双重征税所需办理的手续进行沟通。

为避免双重征收所得税而签署的双边协定

意大利与多国签署有双边协议,以避免对意大利人在境外的所得,以及意大利非居民在意大利的所得重复征税。

表明希望受益于以税收居民身份所在的国家与意大利共和国之间达成的该类协定的非居民,如果情况属实,且得到了两国的认可,则无需对预提税或所有权或预先对要支付的报酬进行代扣代缴。

但按照要求,支付报酬的非居民必须确保所得受益人的税收居民身份有效,且两国之间签署有此类协定。

意大利外交部长曾宣布了一项政府决议,即“对于为了避免重复征收所得税,而与意大利签署有相关协定、且协定仍处于有效期内的国家的居民,将在意大利税务机关收到规定提交的文件(定居国居住证明;定居国税务机关证明,证明需表明非居民在定居国纳税、在意大利不存在固定基地等)后,直接按照协定相关条款规定的更优惠税率向其所得的支付方征税。”

Chinese (custom)

A&B LAW FIRM

(+39) 055 2399910 m.ambrogio info@italylawfirms.com

The subjection to the taxation of fees paid to non-resident individuals for self-employment

Italy Law Firms

The subjection to the taxation of fees paid to non-resident individuals for self-employment and the ability to make use of international conventions on double taxation.

 1. Notions of territoriality social security number, and obligations of the withholding agent

Article 2 of Presidential Decree no. 917/86 (Consolidated Law on Income Tax) will be subject to natural persons, residents and non-residents, in the Italy and residents identified as people who for most of the year are recorded in the register as resident or alternatively are a resident of the State and are domiciled within the meaning of the Italian Civil Code.

The reference to most of the tax period is conventionally interpreted as a reference to the address in the Italian territory for a period commencing from the date by 183 days of stay, equal to half plus one of the days that make up the year, and having also called the home the identifying feature of the residence for tax purposes underlines the intention of the legislature to want to consider how important the stay is physically to the territory of the Republic of Italy.

The next article 3 of Presidential Decree identifies as the basis of assessment for non-residents total income produced in the State. The income is listed in Article 20 of the Decree, which considers products in the State, in addition to the income from land and capital:

  1. c) the compensation of employees paid in Italy;
  2. d) the self-employment income derived from activities performed in the Italy;
  3. e) the business income derived from activities performed in Italy through a permanent establishment;
  4. f) income from the various activities carried out in the Italian territory  and assets that are located in the same territory, as well as gains from the disposal for consideration of shares in companies resident in Italy.

The following paragraph 2 of Art. 3, however, raises an exception to the territoriality principle set out in the preceding paragraph:

“Regardless of the conditions referred to in subparagraphs c), d), e) and f) of paragraph 1, it shall be judged products of the State, if paid by the State:

 The fees for the use of intellectual property, industrial patents and trademarks, as well as processes, formulas and information relating to experience acquired in the industrial, commercial or scientific experience”

 From a reading of paragraphs 1 and 2 of Article 20, it is therefore evident that the self-employment income, in addition to the business, are subject to taxation only if produced in Italy, or if derived from activities performed in the State, except, however, certain types of income (including income from coordinated and continuous collaborations) and fees for the sale or exploitation of intellectual property, which are subject to taxation if paid by any entity, whether public or private, residing in Italy.

In summary then, for self-employment income, except for transfer payments of royalties and income similar to those of employees, taxation shall apply only if the income is paid for work performed in the Italy.

Conversely, for the mentioned transfers of copyright, it is considered income produced in Italy if paid by public or private entities or anyone having a permanent establishment in the State.

 2. Application of taxation

For the charges to be coordinated and continuous, paragraph 1 of Article 24 of Presidential Decree n. 600/73 says:

“1-ter. On the taxable amount of income similar to those of employees, paid to non-residents, there must be made a withholding tax to the extent of 30 percent”.

 The tax to be applied to compensation for self-employment is governed by paragraphs 1 and 2 of Article 25 of the same Presidential Decree n. 600/73:

“1. The subjects that correspond to persons resident in the territory of Italy fees of any description including in the form of profit sharing, for self-employed work, although not regularly carried out, must operate upon payment a withholding tax of 20 per cent by way of payment of the tax on personal income tax payable by percipient”

 “2. Subject to the last paragraph of this article, if the fees and other amounts referred to in the previous paragraph are paid to non-residents, it must be made a withholding tax to the extent of 30 per cent, also for performance carried through undertakings. It does not include payment for work services rendered abroad and those paid to permanent establishments in Italy of non-residents. “

Therefore, it is made the final withholding tax to the extent of 30 per cent on compensation for coordinated and continuous collaborative relationships for self-employment carried out by non-residents; such withholding is to be considered final, and therefore, should not be shown in any tax return.

In fact, not being the subject present for most of the year in the territory of the state, a prerequisite for being identified as a resident for tax purposes in Italy, he will not be responsible for submitting the tax return in Italy.

3. Non-resident in Italy

Non-resident in Italy (Italian or foreign citizens) are required to pay the contribution if they are required to file the tax return in Italy.

Returning in Article 25 paragraph 2 of the Decree n. 600/73, it is necessary to emphasize that it shall be subject to a tax of 30 per cent and fees related to services provided in the enterprise system, notwithstanding the general principle of non-subjection to withholding of such income received by resident individuals.

Therefore, on the occasion of services performed by non-resident enterprises, we must keep in mind the 30 percent tax obligation execution of withholding, and is easy to understand the reason for this rule: not being present for more than 183 days in the Italian territory, and therefore not being subject to income tax in Italy, the non-resident company has not established that it had not been subject to the withholding tax title and should leave Italian territory without being subject to any tax.

The same paragraph 2 excludes the retention of both the self-employed work carried out abroad (for lack of the territoriality principle) and the remuneration paid to permanent establishments in Italy of non-resident entities, in which case the company becomes a fact fledged tax resident in the State.

4. Tax identification

For all acts that accompany the formulation of employment and subsequent payments of compensation to non-residents, there is no requirement to indicate the number of the Italian tax code, except in those cases where the same code is not already attributed.

That provision is contained in Article 6 of Presidential Decree n. 605/73, which provides that the obligation to indicate the tax number for non-residents who do not already hold one, is not necessary with the indication of personal data (name, first name, place and date of birth, sex, domicile abroad).

However, the one who pays the fees to such persons, who as a substitute tax must declare this remuneration and any deductions made during the declaration of income, must be in possession of a foreign tax code (or tax identification number) of a non-resident taxpayer, who in turn includes, on the model of declaration, the personal data and for the foreign address of the recipient.

This requirement was introduced because in this way the Italian Tax Authority is able to communicate to the foreign state in which the beneficiary is domiciled for tax purposes the amount of compensation paid and taxation made or not and the purpose of the procedures required for the avoidance of double taxation on income.

5. Agreements to avoid double taxation on income

In order to prevent double taxation on income, both those produced abroad by Italians and those produced in the country by non-residents, Italy has signed bilateral agreements with many foreign countries.

For non-residents who say they wish to avail themselves of this Convention between the State where they are residents for tax purposes and the Italian Republic if it exists and if it has been ratified by both Houses, the substitute tax will not apply to tax withholding or title or as an advance on the compensation that it provides.

He who pays the sums, however, is required to ensure the effective tax residence and the existence of the Convention between the two countries.

In a decision, the Italian Foreign Minister stated that “with respect to persons resident in countries with which were signed and are in force international agreements to avoid double taxation, the direct application of the more favorable treatment resulting from the provisions related to it shall take place under the responsibility of the one who pays, after obtaining the required documents (certificate of residence in the foreign country; tax authority certificate of the country of non-resident stating that the subject is therein subjected to taxation, non-existent in Italy a fixed base, etc.). “

The contents of this page should not be taken as an authoritative statement of Italian law and practice. Neither the author nor the publisher are responsible for the results of actions taken on the basis of information contained in this summary, nor for any errors or omissions. This text is not intended to render legal, accounting or tax advice. Readers are encouraged to seek professional advice concerning specific matters before making any decision.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change this and find out more by following this link

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fonire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o clicchi su "Accetta" permetti al loro utilizzo.

Chiudi